Mediocre Cupid

I hate OKCupid.

Of course, you get what you pay for, and since it’s a free website, your expectations can’t be that high.  I’ve been stood up twice recently, and had a date up and cancelled on me for no apparent reason.  And let’s be honest, the guys on there aren’t exactly stellar.

I’m not looking to “hook up” with anyone, so that knocks about 60% of the men out of contention by default.  I’m not into being with couples, so there goes about another 10%.

That leaves about 30%.  Not a great number.  And from that, I have to figure out which guy who can’t figure out how to fill out his profile, or is a torso, or is clearly lying is my future mate?  Feh, I say.

Perhaps next year I’ll try out one of the pay sites.

If life were fair, none of this would be a necessity.  Alas, it is.  For me.  I don’t want to be alone anymore.

And I’m so, so sick of making the first move.  I don’t like making the first move.  So often men act like that’s a sign of desperation, when really, it’s just a sign of being willing to be proactive.  But…

Whatever.  It’s hard not to get jaded.

2 thoughts on “Mediocre Cupid

  1. I love your courage in admitting that you don’t want to be alone – and your courage with sticking with online dating even when it’s demoralizing. Hang in there!

    Like

Comments are closed.